Tags

, , , , ,


Where are the souls?

Dead and Buried, for many years

The following post is of a topic that goes against the grain of what I have believed for many years, and what most people continue to believe today. I’ve always depended upon the preachers’ sermons to enlighten me on most of what I would come to believe and think I knew. What I studied was mostly laid out very neatly for me and as long as I didn’t stray too much from that, I was okay, for the most part. When I did get away and into the Bible for myself, much of it confused me. The reason for this is that what I was taught was so ingrained in me, I just consoled myself with the notion that we aren’t supposed to understand all that’s written in God’s Word. After so many years of that kind of consolation, I found out that most of the Bible can be explained and all the Bible is true.

Now it’s time to get into the land of Biblical controversy. This will likely as not reduce what little popularity I may have, but it must be done/ said. I must do the will of God. There are many doctrines being taught that are not biblical; and the subject of going straight to your reward or your punishment after death fits right in there. When studying the Bible and its doctrines, one MUST take in the whole Bible and all scriptures pertaining to a subject instead of hanging onto one scripture that seems to say what one desires it to. Or maybe one parable that’s as most parables- they are to be taken as allegory teaching and not literary. Trying to make the Word of God fits your needs is so wrong and it is definitely not God’s will.

How we get here to start with-

Genesis 2: 7 And the LORD God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul (or being).

AND when we die-

Ecclesiastes 12: 7 Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it.

The spirit (the breathe of life) returns to God, whether the person is righteous or wicked.

James 2: 26 For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.

Job 27: 3 All the while my breath is in me, and the spirit of God is in my nostrils;

Further evidence that the spirit is the breathe of life, it has no feelings, wisdom or life in itself.

The soul is Really our living being and the soul can and does die. Even animals have souls. The soul is a combination of body PLUS the breath of life. And the breath of life goes back to God upon death.

Revelation 16: 3 And the second angel poured out his vial upon the sea; and it became as the blood of a dead man: and every living soul died in the sea.

When people turn God’s Word around to suit others’ needs/wants, it makes the rest of the Bible harder to understand, especially for those that don’t study it very much or keep an open mind. Case in point-this one. When people believe that when someone dies, they instantly go to their after-life destination, the scriptures that say otherwise are confusing to them. And if people go to Heaven or hell right after death, what or who is left to be caught up upon Jesus’ return? Some preach that their souls go to Heaven and await the rest of themselves to join up in the resurrection. That’s not in the Bible.

John 5: 28 Marvel not at this: for the hour is coming, in the which all that are in the graves shall hear his voice,

29 And shall come forth; they that have done good, unto the resurrection of life; and they that have done evil, unto the resurrection of damnation.

Acts 2: 29 Men and brethren, let me freely speak unto you of the patriarch David, that he is both dead and buried, and his sepulchre is with us unto this day.

34 For David is not ascended into the heavens: but he saith himself, The Lord said unto my Lord, Sit thou on my right hand,

According to the Bible people do not go to heaven or hell when they die, they remain in their graves TO AWAIT the resurrections. And contrary to popular belief and many religions, the dead do not communicate, nor are they aware of anything on this earth. With that being said, I’ll save this topic for another time, another post in my blog.

Job 14: 12 So man lieth down, and riseth not: till the heavens be no more, they shall not awake, nor be raised out of their sleep.

21 His sons come to honour, and he knoweth it not; and they are brought low, but he perceiveth it not of them.

Ecclesiastes 9: 5 For the living know that they shall die: but the dead know not any thing, neither have they any more a reward; for the memory of them is forgotten.

6 Also their love, and their hatred, and their envy, is now perished; neither have they any more a portion for ever in any thing that is done under the sun.

In all of Jesus’ teachings, he never said that when people died they would go to their rewards. Doesn’t that seem just a little odd that people believe so strongly in a doctrine that was never taught by Jesus. We must as Christians do as Jesus would or at least what He taught during His many sermons- WWJD? He did however teach that He would be going to Heaven to get ready for us when we arrived after the resurrection at His second coming.

John 14: 2-In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.

3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.

The only Real scripture that people use to back up their belief that we will all go to our reward or punishment upon death is the one where Jesus was dying on the cross and the men on either side were talking to Him. The one was remorseful of his wrongdoings and wanted forgiveness/ acceptance. Jesus spoke to him.

Luke 23:43 And Jesus said unto him, Verily I say unto thee, To day shalt thou be with me in paradise.

Now if Jesus meant that, He would have told an untruth, because Jesus didn’t go to paradise that day. But Jesus does not tell and didn’t tell an untruth. On Sunday, Jesus told Mary-

John 20: 17 Jesus saith unto her, Touch me not; for I am not yet ascended to my Father: but go to my brethren, and say unto them, I ascend unto my Father, and your Father; and to my God, and your God.

The Real truth is that punctuation in the Bible is not inspired as the writing is and the comma was added in translation. Let’s move the comma behind the ‘Today’, as it should have been, to get another entire meaning- “Verily I say unto thee today, thou shalt be with me in paradise.” This little change in the translation changes what He says from meaning ‘today’ to ‘sometime in the future’. This should be read as- he will go when we all, who are saved, go to paradise after the resurrection. Jesus will set up His kingdom at His second coming, and all the Righteous will enter in at that time. That is the promise we hold on to.

